I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Christopher Columbus Fellowship Program

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

How to apply...

Application Procedure:

WORK IN PROGRESS - The Frank Annunzio Award - The winner of the Frank Annunzio Award must be a living American whose "cutting edge" innovation will lead to creative work, process, product, or other achievement that will make a significant and beneficial impact on society. Only nominations in the field of Science/Technology will be accepted. All nominations are received online. The deadline for entries is April 30, 2004. Homeland Security Awards - The winners of the Homeland Security Awards are American individuals/companies that are making measurable and constructive contributions related to basic and/or advanced research in the area of homeland security which will result in a significant and positive benefit to society. Nominations in the following four fields will be accepted: Biological, Radiological, Nuclear; Border/Transportation Security; Emergency Response; and Information Sharing . The deadline for entries is May 14, 2004. DISCOVER THE FUTURE - Christopher Columbus Awards - Entries will be accepted from all 50 States, territories and possessions. All team entries must consist of a Christopher Columbus Awards Entry form (signed by the team members and the coach), a team-written section and the visual component. To enter, mail an original and two copies of the team's community solution to: Christopher Columbus Awards, 105 Terry Drive, Suite 120, Newtown, PA 18940. The deadline for the 2005 competition is February 17, 2005. National Gallery for America's Young Inventors - An entrant must be a winner of a national invention competition, a patent holder or have a product on the national market. All entrants must be American citizens between the ages of 6 to 19. Entries may be submitted to Partnership for America's Future, Inc., 80 West Bowery Street, Suite 305, Akron, OH 44308. The deadline for the 2005 competition is January 15, 2005. $10,000 Freida J. Riley Teacher Award - The Freida J. Riley Teacher Award is limited to any certified classroom teacher who is presently teaching, or has previously taught full-time (grades K-12), in an accredited U.S. public, private, or charter school. The award will be presented to a teacher "working with a physical disability, dealing with an especially challenging educational environment, or who has performed a heroic act for his/her students." The award will not be given posthumously. The deadline for entries is March 1, 2005. Send applications to Partnership for America's Future, Inc., 80 West Bowery Street, Suite 305, Akron, Ohio 44308.

Note: Each program will indicate whether applications are to be submitted to the Federal headquarters, regional or local office, or to a State or local government office.

Award Procedure:

WORK IN PROGRESS - Frank Annunzio Awards and Homeland Security Awards - All entries are screened by the Board of Trustees of the Christopher Columbus Foundation and a national Evaluation Committee. The Awards will be presented on October 11, 2004. DISCOVER THE FUTURE - The Christopher Columbus Awards have three judging phases. The finals and the Christopher Columbus Academy are held at the Walt Disney World Resorts, Orlando, FL, from June 19-23, 2004. National Gallery for America's Young Inventors - Inductees are chosen by a Student Board of Directors and the 2004 inductees will be honored at a banquet on May 1, 2004 in Akron, OH. Freida J. Riley Teacher Award - Applications are evaluated by a panel of national judges. The award will be presented on May 6, 2004, in Clarksburg, WV.

Note: Grant payments may be made by a letter of credit, advance by Treasury check, or reimbursement by Treasury check. Awards may be made by the headquarters office directly to the applicant, an agency field office, a regional office, or by an authorized county office. The assistance may pass through the initial applicant for further distribution by intermediate level applicants to groups or individuals in the private sector.