I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Christopher Columbus Fellowship Program

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Program accomplishments...

In 2003, the Foundation awarded the $50,000 Frank Annunzio Award for "cutting edge" innovation in the Science/Technology field. The Columbus Scholar was: James A. Thomson, V.M.D., Ph.D., Diplomat A.C.V.P., John D. McArthur Professor, Department of Anatomy, University of Wisconsin Medical School and The Wisconsin National Primate Research Center, Madison, Wisconsin, for his research in the field of embryonic stem (ES) cells. Homeland Security Awards were presented in four fields. The Biological, Radiological, Nuclear award was presented to Frances Ligler, D.Phil., D.Sc., Naval Research Laboratory; Border /Transportation Security award was presented to Michael B. Cantor, Ph.D., WayPoint Research, Inc.; Emergency Response award was presented to Joany Jackman, Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory; and Information Sharing award was presented to Chief William Berger, J.D., Team Leader, National Self-Defense Institute Be 'S.A.F.E.R.' program. The $25,000 Columbus Foundation Community Grant went to a team of students from A.M. Kulp Elementary School, Hatfield, PA for "SSS: Sensors Saving Students" a school bus sensor that will alert students that a car is passing the bus - this equipment would also take a picture of the car license plate so a ticket can be issued to the vehicles illegally passing stopped school buses. The inductees in the National Gallery for America's Young Inventors must have won a national invention competition, hold a patent or have a product on the national market. The 2004 inductees are: Hyeyeon Choi, The Effect of Supercritical Fluids on Polymer Thin Films; Joline Fan, Heat Transfer Enhancement of Drag Reducing Surfactants Using Ultrasonic Energy; Elena Leah Glassman, Brain-Computer Interface for the Muscularly Disabled; Vaishali Kiran Grover, Environmentally-Friendly Enzyme Based Antifouling Paint; Chandler Macocha, Wheelchair Backpack Helper; Sean Kshitij Mehra and Jeffrey Reitman, Using Nanoparticles to Enhance Polymer Properties for Improved Commercial Applications: Space Lubricants to Nanolithography. The 2003 Freida J. Riley Teacher Award was presented to Victor Hakopian, a special education teacher at Jean Parker Elementary School in San Francisco, California. Being disabled at a young age with a rare eye disease which left him legally blind, Victor had to overcome prejudice from his peers and society as well as family cultural beliefs. However, he learned that his destiny was in his own hands and he continually worked toward his goals. Victor promotes and expects excellence from his students as he inspires his students to have the confidence to take risks, and to know his classroom is a safe haven where they can do so.