I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Christopher Columbus Fellowship Program

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Deadlines and process...


Contact the Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation for deadlines.

Note: When available, this section indicates the deadlines for applications to the funding agency which will be stated in terms of the date(s) or between what dates the application should be received. When not available, applicants should contact the funding agency for deadline information.

Range of Approval/Disapproval Time

Not applicable.

Preapplication Coordination

In order to fulfill its mission, the Foundation has developed a Frontiers of Discovery program. WORK IN PROGRESS - The Foundation will present a $50,000 Frank Annunzio Award to a living American whose "cutting edge" innovation will lead to creative work, process, product or other achievement that will have a significant and beneficial impact on society in the Science/Technology field. All nominations are received online. Homeland Security Awards - The Foundation will present awards to American individuals/companies that are making measurable and constructive contributions related to basic and/or advanced research in the area of homeland security which will result in a significant and positive benefit to society in four fields: Biological, Radiological, Nuclear; Border/Transportation Security; Emergency Response; and Information Sharing. All nominations are received online. DISCOVER THE FUTURE - The Future program is accomplished through three separate programs. 1) Christopher Columbus Awards - The Christopher Columbus Awards is a national competition which asks sixth through eighth grade students to identify a problem in their community and then solve it using science and technology. The program is designed to foster curiosity, creativity and critical thinking skills in youth with diverse backgrounds, interests and abilities. The students work in teams of three to four. The teams' entries are reviewed by a regional panel of judges who select 30 semi-finalist teams. The finalist judging selects eight finalist teams to compete in the national finals. The national judging is held at Walt Disney World Resorts(r), Orlando, FL. In addition, the finalists attend the Christopher Columbus Academy, a custom-designed program that takes the kids through a one-of-a-kind educational experience. Also, one of the teams wins the $25,000 Columbus Foundation Community Grant to take back to their community to make their idea a reality. This program is sponsored by the Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation. The program is managed by Media Management Services, Inc., 105 Terry Drive, Newtown, PA 18940, Attn: Stephanie Hallman. This program is excluded from coverage under E.O. 12372. 2) National Gallery for America's Young Inventors - The Christopher Columbus Foundation is affiliated with the Partnership for America's Future, Inc. and sponsors the National Gallery for America's Young Inventors. The purpose of the National Gallery is to "celebrate the learning, insight, creativity and workmanship of America's student inventors by recognizing and preserving their accomplishments for the inspiration of future generations." The National Gallery inducts up to six student inventors annually to honor their creative innovation. In order to be considered for induction, each entrant must be a winner of a national invention competition, a patent holder or have a product on the national market. All entrants must be American citizens between the ages of 6 to 19. Entries are judged by a national Student Board of Directors. The program is administered by the Partnership for America's Future, Inc., 80 West Bowery Street, Suite 305, Akron, OH 44308, Attn: Gay Evans. 3) $10,000 Freida J. Riley Teacher Award - The Freida J. Riley Teacher Award is another program sponsored by the Foundation through the Partnership for America's Future. The purpose of the Award is to identify and reward an American teacher who "has overcame tremendous adversity, or made an enormous sacrifice in order to positively impact students." The award is limited to any certified classroom teacher who is presently teaching, or has previously taught full-time (grades K-12), in an accredited U.S. public, private, or charter school. The award will be presented to a teacher who "is working with a physical disability; is dealing with an especially challenging educational environment, or has performed a heroic act for

Note: This section indicates whether any prior coordination or approval is required with governmental or nongovernmental units prior to the submission of a formal application to the federal funding agency.


Not applicable.

Note: In some cases, there are no provisions for appeal. Where applicable, this section discusses appeal procedures or allowable rework time for resubmission of applications to be processed by the funding agency. Appeal procedures vary with individual programs and are either listed in this section or applicants are referred to appeal procedures documented in the relevant Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).


Not applicable.

Note: In some instances, renewal procedures may be the same as for the application procedure, e.g., for projects of a non-continuing nature renewals will be treated as new, competing applications; for projects of an ongoing nature, renewals may be given annually.